With so many fake email gimmicks now and people trying to exploit your personal info over the Internet, it can be helpful to know how to spot them. First off any email that asks you to verify your user name and password is usually always a fraud. I'll use one I received as an example.
As you can see at first glance this may look legit, even the header says eBay.com, however that can easily be faked.
When clicking on the link in the email this is what we see. It may look like an official eBay page, but it's not. It's a scam to get you to enter your account details, which would then be logged and used for fraudulent purposes.
The first thing that is noticeable is the url at the top, it doesn't say www.ebay.com, instead there is a strange ip address. I am using Firefox as my browser and there is an extension called Show IP which shows the website's IP down on the status bar and gives you the option of tracing where an IP is originating from when you click on it. If you don't have this you can go to DNSStuff.com and enter the ip into the WhoIS lookup box. The information for the fake eBay page comes up as follows:
inetnum: 219.141.0.0 - 219.141.127.255 netname: CHINANET-GZ descr: CHINANET Guizhou province network descr: Data Communication Division descr: China Telecom country: CN admin-c: CH93-AP tech-c: DL72-AP mnt-by: MAINT-CHINANET mnt-lower: MAINT-CHINANET-GZ changed: **********@ns.chinanet.cn.net 20021016 status: ALLOCATED NON-PORTABLE source: APNIC
person: Chinanet Hostmaster address: No.31 ,jingrong street,beijing address: 100032 country: CN phone: +86-10-66027112 fax-no: +86-10-58501144 e-mail: **********@ns.chinanet.cn.net e-mail: *********@ns.chinanet.cn.net nic-hdl: CH93-AP mnt-by: MAINT-CHINANET changed: **********@ns.chinanet.cn.net 20021016 remarks: hostmaster is not for spam complaint,please send spam complaint to *********@ns.chinanet.cn.net source: APNIC
person: dan lu nic-hdl: DL72-AP e-mail: ******@public.gz.cn address: 3. east yanan road of guiyang address: 550001 china phone: +86-851-6861469 fax-no: +86-851-6857020 country: CN changed: ******@public.gz.cn 20030122 mnt-by: MAINT-CHINANET-GUIZHOU source: APNIC
This IP address is not registered to eBay but to a dan lu in China.
If we type in www.ebay.com. We can see the IP address for eBay using the ShowIP extension.
When running a WhoIS report on this IP we get the following results:
OrgName: eBay, Inc OrgID: EBAY Address: 2145 Hamilton Ave City: San Jose StateProv: CA PostalCode: 95008 Country: US
NetRange: 66.135.192.0 - 66.135.223.255 CIDR: 66.135.192.0/19 NetName: EBAY-1 NetHandle: NET-66-135-192-0-1 Parent: NET-66-0-0-0-0 NetType: Direct Assignment NameServer: SJC-DNS1.EBAYDNS.COM NameServer: SJC-DNS2.EBAYDNS.COM NameServer: SMF-DNS1.EBAYDNS.COM Comment: RegDate: 2001-07-13 Updated: 2003-02-20
OrgTechHandle: EBAYN-ARIN OrgTechName: eBay Network OrgTechPhone: +1-408-376-7400 OrgTechEmail: *******@ebay.com
As you can see, this is the real ebay website.
If you are not 100% sure of a website's authenticity, never enter your details, especially if there is money involved. Identity theft is also a growing concern. You should be very careful before entering your social security number online or other personal information.
|